All borrowers must be registered and must have a valid local or system patron card to borrow library materials.
Applicants must fill out an application form to register for a new library card.
Identification is required. A driver's license or student ID is preferred; however, any other official ID may be acceptable.
Applicants under 18 years of age must have a parent or guardian give their consent on the application form before a new card can be issued. The child must be present when an adult fills out an application for a card. This parental signature is not required for children who are renewing cards. Children must be five (5) years old to get a library card. The parent or guardian is solely responsible for the type of material their children check out.
Out-of-state borrowers are charged a $10 yearly user fee.
Materials cannot be checked out until a library card is issued.
A patron must have their card with them to check out materials or use a card app (i.e. CardStar, KeyRing, or StoCard).
B. Lost or forgotten cards
If a patron loses his/her library card, they should notify the library as soon as possible and request a replacement at a cost of $1.00.
C. Loan periods
- 4 weeks for books.
- Interlibrary loans are due the date indicated by the lending library.
- 1 week for periodicals.
- 4 weeks for cassettes, audio books, and compact discs.
- 1 week for videocassettes/DVDs/blue-rays/console games.
- DVD/blue-ray and console game checkouts are limited to ten (10) per card.
- Materials may be renewed 4 times if there is not a waiting list for the title.
- A patron may have no more than 100 items checked out at one time.
Holds may be placed by patrons either in person, over the phone, or on-line. Patrons will be notified by e-mail, telephone, or text when the materials are available. There is no charge to the patron for placing a hold. Holds that are not picked up will be canceled and returned. Patrons may suspend holds if they are unable to pick up their items. Interlibrary loans (items not in the consortium catalog) cost $2.00 per title, payable when the item is received and whether or not the item is checked out.
E. Fines and charges
As of April 1, 2017, the Washington County Public Library does not charge fines for overdue materials. If the material(s) are not returned with in 30 days, a bill for the replacemen cost of the material(s) plus a $3 per item processing fee, will be charged. If the total amount of lost items and fees is over $50, it will be sent to a collection agency. Patrons who have fees of more than $10.00 will be denied borrowing and computer privileges until those overdue materials are returned or paid for if lost and/or damaged.
If parents owe $10.00 or more on their own cards, they cannot sign their children up for a Washington County Public Library card.
The exception to the policy is when a patron has been turned over to collection the account must be cleared before the patron can check out.
F. Lost/Damaged materials
If materials are damaged so as to be judged by the library as being unsuitable for the collection, the patron must pay the replacement cost. A notice of these charges will be placed on the borrower's record. Parents or guardians are responsible for all items checked out to their children.
The Washington County Public Library does not give refunds for lost/damaged items that have been paid for. If an item is found after the borrower has paid for it, it is theirs to keep.
G. User Fee
The Washington County Public Library charges out of state borrowers a $10.00 non-refundable, yearly User Fee.